CINCINNATI (WXIX) – Tuesday is Ohio’s 2024 Presidential Primary Election.

In addition to voting on which candidate will represent their party for the presidency and Senate, voters also will weigh in on local political races.

Polls opened at 6:30 a.m. and will close at 7:30 p.m.

To find your polling location, visit the Ohio Secretary of State’s website here.

To track your absentee ballot, click this link.

There are over 8 million registered voters in Ohio. Secretary of State Frank LaRose reports 347,489 absentee ballots were requested this year, and only 74.81% of those ballots have been cast as of March 13.

Statewide Elections

President of the United States

The two front runners in the 2024 Presidential Election already seem to be shaping up to look like a familiar contest.

Former President Donald Trump will more than likely be running against President Joe Biden (incumbent) in November.

The news comes after former South Carolina Governor Nikki Haley (R) and U.S. Rep. Dean Phillips (D-Minnesota) ended their campaigns for president.

Several other GOP candidates dropped out of the race fairly early, including Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis and Cincinnati-native Vivek Ramaswamy, both of whom are vouching for Trump to win.

Environmental lawyer Robert F. Kennedy is also still in the running for president, but will not appear on either ballot because he is running on an Independent ticket.

Ohio’s U.S. Senator

If Republicans play their cards right, then they could flip the blue seat red in the U.S. Senate. But that will not be known until November.

Despite it being a Primary, this is still one of Ohio’s biggest elections for the GOP. Two well-known politicians, State Sen. Matt Dolan (R-Cuyahoga) and Secretary of State Frank LaRose, along with one businessman, Bernie Moreno, are running against each other this year.

The winner will run against Democratic incumbent Sherrod Brown, who has held his position since 2007.

Each GOP candidate has dozens of endorsements from prominent politicians and organizations.

State Sen. Matt Dolan Secretary of State Frank LaRose Bernie Moreno
Gov. Mike DeWine Ohio Right to Life Former President Donald Trump
Former Sen. Rob Portman Rep. Mike Turner (OH-10) Sen. J.D. Vance (R-Ohio)
Highland County Sheriff Donnie Barrera Butler County Sheriff Richard Jones Rep. Jim Jordan (OH-4)
Sen. Louis Blessing III (R- Hamilton County) Buckeye Firearms Association Rep. Warren Davidson (OH-8)
Clark County Sheriff Deb Burchett Rep. Cindy Abrams (R-Hamilton County) Sen. Rand Paul (R-Kentucky)

Justice of the Ohio Supreme Court

For almost 40 years, Republicans have maintained a majority rule over the state supreme court, but that could change this November as three seats are up for a vote, and Democrats are ready to change the score.

  • Hamilton County Common Pleas Court Judge Megan Shanahan (R) is running against Ohio Supreme Court Justice Michael Donnelly (D) for a six-year term.
  • Republican Justice Joe Deters will run against incumbent Democratic Justice Melody Stewart. Before he was appointed to the court, Deters was the Hamilton County Prosecutor.
  • Democrats Ohio Eighth District Court of Appeals Judge Lisa Forbes and Ohio Tenth District Court of Appeals Judge Terri Jamison will go head-to-head for a chance to fill a vacant seat. The GOP candidate is Franklin County Common Pleas Court Judge Daniel Hawkins.

Major Primary Election Races in Hamilton County

U.S. Representative – Congressional District 8 (Part of Butler County)

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidates
Warren Davidson (incumbent) Vanessa Enoch
Kay Rogers David Gelb
Nathaniel Hawkins

State Representative – District 24

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidates
John Sess Dani Isaacsohn (incumbent)
Stephan Pryor

State Representative – 29th District

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidates
Cindy Abrams (incumbent) Joe Salvato
George Brunemann

State Representative – 30th District

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidates
Mike Odioso Stefanie A. Hawk
Andrew Voynovich

Major Primary Election Races in Butler County

U.S. Representative – Congressional District 8 (Part of Hamilton County)

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidates
Warren Davidson (incumbent) Vanessa Enoch
Kay Rogers David E. Gelb
Nathaniel Hawkins

State Senator – District 4

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidates
Candice Keller Thomas Cooke
George Lang (incumbent)
Mark D. Morgan

State Representative – District 46

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidate
Thomas Hall (incumbent) Benjamin McCall
Zachary R. Stacy

State Representative – District 47

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidate
Sara Carruthers (incumbent) Vanessa R. Cummings
Diane Mullins

Major Primary Election Races in Clermont County

U.S. Representative – Congressional District 2

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidate
Niraj Antani Samantha Meadows
Kim Georgeton
Phil Heimlich
Ron Hood
Tom Hwang
Larry Kidd
Derek Myers
Tim O’Hara
Charles Tassell
David J. Taylor
Shane Wilkin

State Representative – District 62

Republican Candidates Democratic Candidate
Dillon Blevins Katie Vockell
Jean Schmidt (incumbent)

State Senator – District 14

Republican Candidate Democratic Candidates
Terry Johnson (incumbent) Mark Grauwelman
Shane Marcum

See a spelling or grammar error in our story? Please click here to report it.

Do you have a photo or video of a breaking news story? Send it to us here with a brief description.

2024 © Network Today. All Rights Reserved.